Get upside down.

Yes just what the title of this post says…….do it.

I want to share a few quotes from various clients as a result of getting inverted:

“Wow that’s something I never thought I could do but I just did it”

“Somehow being able to do a handstand has made so many other things in life so much simpler to handle”

“If I can do that then surely there are more things in my life that I didn’t think I could do but I actually can”

And then some words from a friend who is a Yoga instructor:

“The handstand/headstand is said to be the King of all Yoga poses. In essence, THE MOST important pose to do daily. Being inverted is the secret to long-life and longevity according to many. It cleans and detoxes the body, stimulates the lymphatic system, strengthens immune system, changes blood flow allowing all the blood in our upper body to be refreshed and provides our heart a chance to rest as it isn’t working so hard against gravity to get blood to our brain. According to one of the most amazing gurus of all time, Mr BKS Iyengar; “Yoga inversions purge the body of its impurities, bringing strength, firmness, calmness and clarity of mind.” I find the more time I spend upside down, the more calm and peaceful i feel.”

I personally first found the need to get inverted in the 2011 CrossFit Games regional competition when the first event demanded 30 hand stand push ups. Receiving this news 2 weeks before the event was hardly ideal and I arrived at the event with a plan that simply kept me in the competition which was to complete 1 of the 30 hand stand push ups. Why? Because at that given point I was unable to even do that…….I managed 27 within the time limit.

In the 2011 CrossFit games the athletes were asked to walk as far as they could on their hands! Strange huh?

And so my quest to master the hand stand push up and develop the skill of the handstand walk began…………and both continue today! I agree with the comments of my clients and my yoga friend above and I challenge you to give it a shot.

The “Smash Life” Seminar

InnerFight founder Marcus Smith is a high performance coach with a wide array of clients on all matters related to performance. For more information how he can help you increase your performance contact him direct at ms@innerfight.com
Connect with InnerFight:
Like InnerFight on Facebook
Follow InnerFight on Twitter
Subscribe to InnerFight on YouTube

Leave a Reply

